Zero Waste Day 1!

Yesterday, I went zero waste. Or at least I tried. I recycled a bunch, a Dunkin’ Donuts cup, a recyclable empty bag of chips, and a Chipotle container. I decided that I will give myself some leeway with work, because yesterday, I threw away a lot of garbage that wasn’t mine.

I work in a retail store, and our recyclable capabilities are limited. We can only recycle cardboard, everything else gets thrown away. With my zero waste promise in the back of my mind, it particularly pained me to throw away so much packing materials and plastics. Next week I plan to say something to my boss about maybe talking to the person who owns the building and asking for a recycle bin to join the garbage and cardboard bins. Otherwise, I think I did pretty well. Day 1 doesn’t nearly encompass all of what zero waste living really is. I didn’t have to go out and buy food, clothing, etc. Besides throwing away trash at work (which, technically, isn’t even my trash- but I still felt all the guilt), I felt great!

One thought on “Zero Waste Day 1!

Leave a comment